AMUSE mini-workshop Kobe

AMUSE logoWe are organising a two day mini-workshop on AMUSE, the Astrophysical Multipurpose Software Environment.
The workshop will be held in Kobe at the Center for Planetary Science on Port Island (map),
on Thursday June 21st (afternoon) and Friday June 22nd.

This workshop is supported by FOCUS Establishing Supercomputing Center of Excellence.

In this workshop, we will address the following topics in a series of lectures and hands-on sessions:

  • Installation of AMUSE
  • Running simulations with AMUSE
  • Applications for AMUSE
  • Using FDPS with an AMUSE interface
  • Creating an AMUSE interface for your own code

This workshop is targeted at those with a background in (theoretical) astronomy or planetary science, with experience in running simulations.

The lectures will be held in English.


June 21:

12:30 - Registration, welcome
13:00 - Introduction to AMUSE (Steven Rieder)
13:30 - Hands-on session
15:00 - Tea/coffee break
15:30 - Coupling codes with AMUSE (Alessandro Trani)
16:00 - Hands-on session
17:30 - Closing
18:30 - Dinner (location TBA)

June 22:

09:30 - Welcome, tea/coffee
10:00 - Multi-scale simulations with AMUSE (Francisca Concha-Ramírez)
10:30 - Hands-on session
12:00 - Lunch break, tea/coffee
13:00 - Writing an AMUSE interface: FDPS (Steven Rieder)
13:30 - Hands-on session
14:30 - Tea/coffee break
15:00 - Hands-on session
16:00 - Presenting results, discussion (all)
17:00 - Closing

Hands-on session topics:

1: Installing AMUSE and running example scripts
2: Setting up an AMUSE simulation
3: Create a multi-scale and/or multi-physics simulation
4: Write an AMUSE interface for your own code


Steven Rieder (RIKEN CCS)
Francisca Concha-Ramírez (Leiden University)
Michiko Fujii (University of Tokyo)
Taku Hasegawa (University of Tokyo)
Shunsuke Hozumi (Shiga University)
Tomoaki Ishiyama (Chiba University)
Masaki Iwasawa (RIKEN CCS)
Eiichiro Kokubo (National Astronomical Observatory of Japan)
Junichiro Makino (RIKEN CCS)
Ginjiro Miyagawa (University of Tsukuba)
Daisuke Namekata (RIKEN CCS)
Ngan K. Nguyen (Hokkaido University)
Keigo Nitadori (RIKEN CCS)
Kentaro Nomura (RIKEN CCS)
Alex Pettitt (Hokkaido University)
Takayuki Saitoh (ELSI / Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Steffen Seckler (RIKEN CCS / TU München)
Elizabeth Tasker (ISAS / JAXA)
Alessandro Trani (University of Tokyo)
Shigeru Wakita (ELSI / Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Naoto Yoshinari (University of Tokyo)